2014 Rice Award Winners Recognized at Annual Awards Luncheon

Dec 08, 2014
LITTLE ROCK, AR- - Winners of the 2014 Rice Awards were announced today at a luncheon in their honor.  Awards are presented in the categories of farmer, industry and lifetime achievement.  This year's winners are Fred Zaunbrecher, farmer of the year, Kent McKenzie, rice industry award winner and Marvin Baden, rice lifetime achievement award winner.
Fred Zaunbrecher is a fifth generation rice farmer from Duson, Louisiana who started helping out on the family farm when he was only nine years old.  Together with his three brothers, Zaunbrecher operates GF&P Zaunbrecher Farms where they grow 2,000 acres of rice.  The Zaunbrechers are known for their interest in innovation, utilization of new technology, and collaboration with research scientists at the LSU AgCenter. Zaunbrecher is a graduate of the Rice Leadership Development Class, and currently serves as chairman of the USA Rice Council.
Kent McKenzie, Ph.D., is a native Californian who has worked in rice research in Arkansas, Louisiana, and California.  McKenzie became the director the California Cooperative Rice Research Foundation (CCRRF) in 2000.  Through his research at CCRRF, he has developed several rice varieties like the premium medium grain M-402 that are still in production today. McKenzie is a member of several committees and research task forces for USA Rice.
Marvin "Butch" Baden is a well deserving recipient of the Rice Lifetime Achievement award having worked in the rice industry for 56 years.  Starting out as an office clerk, Baden eventually worked his way into a career in rice sales.  His particular expertise is in the area of export sales and over the course of his career, he has logged over eight million miles traveling the world selling rice.  Baden was elected as a director on the inaugural USA Rice Board of Directors and recently received the Rice Millers' Association Distinguished Service Award.
The Rice Awards are sponsored by Rice Farming magazine, Horizon Ag, and the USA Rice Federation.
Contact:  Deborah Willenborg (703) 236-1444