House Farm Bill Conferees Named

Collin Peterson & Mike Conaway sit at dais, talking
They've got their teams
Jul 23, 2018
WASHINGTON, DC -- This week, the U.S. House of Representatives voted to reject changes the Senate made to its version of the Farm Bill, H.R. 2 as amended, the first official step in the process of conferencing the farm bill. As a result, House members appointed to the farm bill conference committee were also announced this week. Speaker Paul Ryan (R-Wis.) and Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) named 29 Republicans and 18 Democrats to the committee, respectively, a total of 47 lawmakers.  By committee of jurisdiction the conferees are:

House Agriculture Committee
Chairman Mike Conaway (R-Texas)
Ranking Member Collin Peterson (D-Minn.)
Rep. Jodey Arrington (R-Texas)
Rep. Jim Costa (D-Calif.)
Rep. Rick Crawford (R-Ark.)
Rep. Rodney Davis (R-Ill.)
Rep. Marcia Fudge (D-Ohio)
Rep. Bob Goodlatte (R-Va.)
Rep. Michelle Lujan Grisham (D-N.M.)
Rep. Vicky Hartzler (R-Mo.)
Rep. Ann Kuster (D-N.H.)
Rep. Frank Lucas (R-Okla.)
Rep. Roger Marshall (R-Kan.)
Rep. Jim McGovern (D-Mass.)
Rep. Tom O’Halleran (D-Ariz.)
Rep. Mike Rogers (R-Ala.)
Rep. David Rouzer (R-N.C.)
Rep. Austin Scott (R-Ga.)
Rep. David Scott (D-Ga.)
Rep. Glenn Thompson (R-Pa.)
Rep. Filemon Vela (D-Texas)
Rep. Tim Walz (D-Minn.)
Rep. Ted Yoho (R-Fla.)

House Education and the Workforce Committee
Chairwoman Virginia Foxx (R-N.C.)
Rep. Alma Adams (D-N.C.)
Rep. Rick Allen (R-Ga.)

House Energy and Commerce Committee
Rep. Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.)
Rep. John Shimkus (R-Ill.)
Rep. Paul Tonko (D-N.Y.)

House Financial Services Committee
Chairman Jeb Hensarling (R-Texas)
Ranking Member Maxine Waters (D-Calif.)
Rep. Sean Duffy (R-Wis.)

House Foreign Affairs Committee
Chairman Ed Royce (R-Calif.)
Ranking Member Eliot Engel (D-N.Y.)
Rep. Steve Chabot (R-Ohio)

House Oversight and Government Reform Committee
Rep. James Comer (R-Ky.)
Rep. Stacey Plaskett (D-V.I.)
Rep. Mark Walker (R-N.C.)

House Natural Resources Committee
Chairman Rob Bishop (R-Utah)
Ranking Member Raúl Grijalva (D-Ariz.)
Rep. Bruce Westerman (R-Ark.)

House Science, Space, and Technology Committee
Ranking Member Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-Texas)
Rep. Ralph Abraham (R-La.)
Rep. Neal Dunn (R-Fla.)

House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee
Rep. Cheri Bustos (D-Ill.)
Rep. Jeff Denham (R-Calif.)
Rep. Bob Gibbs (R-Ohio)

It’s reported that the Senate could make its formal move to conference with the House and name its conferees as early as next week. The countdown for a new farm bill to pass Congress and be signed into law is now under three months, not including the House’s month-long August recess and the Senate’s reduced August recess. The 2014 Farm Bill will expire on September 30, the end of the federal government’s fiscal year.